Frugal – spend cut – w/e 12/01/14

From my weekly budget of £20, I have spent:

£16 – it was my sister’s birthday on Saturday, and she wanted to go out for a meal to celebrate. She picked a pub carvery which is a very cheap option for an evening meal, but even so, I spent almost my full £20 allowance on meals for my husband and me.

As January is a five-week month, I  have £10 allowance instead of £20 for the next two weeks, so I will put the remaining £4 from this week towards the next two weeks just in case.

From my present budget of £350, I have spent:

£25 – on a present and some cash for my sister’s birthday. I don’t give cards unless I won’t see the person or give them a present on their birthday (e.g. aunts and uncles), or if I know they particularly love cards and will be very sad not to get one (my mum).

My present budget has already been saved for the next three years so I don’t have to worry about it while paying off our mortgage, so I have most of it sitting in an ISA and periodically transfer a bit to my current account when I have presents to pay for. £350 is actually a bit low as there is a new child to spend for from this year onwards, so I may have to cut the cost of presents for Mothers’ and Fathers’ Day and for my husband.

From money I was given for Christmas, I have spent:

£5.98 – a Marks and Spencer short-sleeve jacket from eBay. I estimate I will be able to wear this a lot both for work and outside work, so the cost per wear should end  up at 20p or less.

I also spent money on postal charges for items sold on eBay, Amazon and GreenMetropolis, but this is recovered by the sales profit so I don’t count it as extra spend.

Leave a Reply

