Frugal – spend cut – w/e 26/01/14

From my weekly budget of £20, I have spent:

  • £7.20 – colleague’s leaving lunch. I rarely go out to lunch instead of bringing my own from home, but there was no way to avoid this without looking a bit miserable  and making my colleague feel unvalued.
  • £2.10  – faceted glass beads from eBay; for a cardigan I was making. I bought smaller beads than recommended which saved around £5. Actually, as I paid via Paypal the money came out of my existing balance so I didn’t have to spend any cash.
  • £2.99 – Hot cross bun fudge from Lakeland. On the one hand, this illustrates the danger of walking aimlessly around the shops. I had some time to kill before catching a train so I wandered into Lakeland and ended up buying this fudge, which was delicious but expensive and very unhealthy. On the other hand, at least now I know the hot cross bun taste comes from the spices and can therefore be replicated easily in a more primal recipe not involving flour, which will help me to resist actual hot cross buns in the future. I used some existing change to buy this.

So, although the total spend was £12.29, I managed not to break into my second tenner. I’ll therefore carry it over to next week as this is a five-week month.

I spent money on postal charges for items sold on eBay (recovered by the sales profit so not counted as extra spend).

Leave a Reply

