Kiwi fruit curd

I bought some passionfruit a while ago, but couldn’t find a use for them. Today I thought I’d give passionfruit curd a go. However, when I got to the fridge, the passionfruit had gone mouldy! To my shame, i had to throw it out, but I noticed we had six kiwis which were on the turn, and thought I’d give this recipe from BBC Good Food a go in order to avoid the same thing happening to them.

Ingredients

  • 6 kiwi fruits
  • 3 large eggs
  • 140g butter, diced
  • 250g golden caster sugar
  • 1 tbsp cornflour
  1. Peel the kiwis and blend them.
  2. Put them into a saucepan with all the other ingredients and mix them.
  3. Put the saucepan on a low heat and stir the ingredients constantly with a wooden spoon.
  4. After the butter melts, keep stirring and the mix should start to thicken so that if you lift the wooden spoon, there is a layer coating it rather than running straight off.
  5. I put the hot curd straight into sterilised jars (I put the jars in the oven on gas 1 for 20 minutes while I made the curd). It was still a bit runny but is starting to set now (an hour or so later).

I  have a very sweet tooth, but even so I found this almost too sweet. If I try the recipe again, I will probably halve the sugar and use arrowroot instead of cornflour to make it more primal. I haven’t been able to find out whether the sugar plays an essential role in the setting process or is just for taste. If that latter, I would probably take it out completely.

A jar of kiwi fruit curd with seeds, on a kitchen counter

Leave a Reply

