Frugal / baking – jam cake

My husband and I occasionally buy jam, but we hardly ever eat it. Especially now that I have stopped eating bread, it’s quite difficult to know what to do with a pot of leftover jam. For a while now I have been thinking that since it is full of sugar, it could perhaps be substituted for sugar in a cake recipe, but since I don’t eat cake either, I haven’t tried it out. At the weekend I visited my parents and helped them to clear out their cupboards and look at food which needed using up. They had a jar of rhubarb and ginger jam, made for them by a friend in August 2013 and since they are also not big jam eaters, I thought it was time to experiment. I made up the proportions based on a half-remembered yoghurt cake recipe from years ago.

Ingredients

  • 1 jar of jam
  • 2 jars of flour
  • 2 large eggs
  • half a jar of oil

Very simple, I mixed everything together and put it in the oven at gas mark 4 for around 1 hour and 20 minutes. It turned out like a cake, which was already a good start. As there was only olive oil available, it did taste a bit olive-y but that would easily be remedied by trying an oil without such a strong flavour. It wasn’t very sweet, but I didn’t taste the original jam, and as rhubarb is quite sour, that probably had an effect on the sweetness.

I would say that if you like cake and if you don’t eat much jam, this recipe is worth trying. We used gluten-free flour but you could also use self-raising flour or plain flour and baking powder.

Leave a Reply

