Primal – Flourless brownies

I spend a while this morning reading magazines. March 2014 Good Housekeeping had an article called “A girl’s guide to brownies”. I was a bit disappointed at first, as they all looked delicious, but also gluten-full. However, the last recipe was for flourless brownies. The original recipe was as follows:

  • 75g unsalted butter
  • 250g dark chocolate
  • 15g cocoa powder
  • 2tsp vanilla extract
  • 250g caster sugar
  • 4 large eggs
  • 100g ground almonds

I’ve tried three variations now. The first used a mix of milk and dark chocolate (as I didn’t have enough dark chocolate), 100g of sugar (as 250g seemed like ridiculously much), and a mix of around 200g ground almonds, chopped mixed nuts and unsweetened dessicated coconut (partly as I didn’t have enough ground almonds, but also as I’d reduced the volume of sugar).

Pan of flourless brownies

Pan of flourless brownies

Flourless brownie slice

A slice of flourless brownie with shredded coconut

This was probably the best version, I think the chopped mixed nuts were a good addition.

For the second and third versions, I used a mix of ground almonds and unsweetened dessicated coconut, as I had no more chopped mixed nuts. For the third version, I used 2 tablespoons of Truvia instead of sugar, but I wouldn’t recommend this as it had a weird aftertaste. The third version had around 50g sugar and all dark chocolate.

For version four, I will probably use milk and dark chocolate and then skip the sugar completely. I’m also thinking about a version with extra cocoa powder and figs, and no chocolate or sugar, but this might be a step too far.

Leave a Reply

