Primal / paleo – Chocolate hazelnut cake

My mum is gluten-sensitive/borderline coeliac, so for family occasions I like to make a flourless cake which she and I can eat along with everyone else. Last Christmas I found a recipe for chocolate hazelnut cake which went down really well. My mum has now asked for that cake for her birthday. Sadly, I found the recipe online and can’t remember the name or the website, so it’s gone forever. However, I’ve done a little online sleuthing and I’ve tried this recipe from What Jessica Baked Next.

The original ingredients are:

  • 250g whole blanched hazelnuts
  • 200g unsalted butter
  • 200g dark chocolate- at least 70% cocoa solids
  • 4 large free-range eggs
  • 200g caster sugar
  • 3 tablespoons of hazelnut liqueur (such as Frangelico) or fresh orange juice

My mum also avoids eating a lot of sugar, so I drastically reduced the sugar from 200g to 50g. We don’t have either Frangelico or orange juice in the house, so I replaced it with 1tsp vanilla extract.

Instead of putting Nutella (or more realistically, supermarket own-brand chocolate hazelnut spread) on the top, I was thinking of using the Civilized Caveman’s paleo not-ella which would further reduce the sugar content. It also has considerably more than the 0.5% hazelnuts in one own-brand spread whose ingredients I checked. However, when I made the not-ella, I found that although it was quite tasty, it was not similar enough to actual chocolate hazelnut spread. If you have been doing Whole 30 or otherwise seriously avoid sugar, it would be a good substitute, but I thought for non-paleo people like my family, it would not be sweet enough. So in the end I used normal chocolate hazelnut spread.

Chocolate hazelnut cake

The finished version of the chocolate hazelnut cake.

Leave a Reply

