Frugal – spend cut – w/e 25/05/14

From my weekly budget of £20, I have spent:

  • £4.49 – bubble wrap and brown paper for posting sold items, Toffifee.
  • £0.60 – Cadbury’s fudge on three separate occasions
  • £2.50 – Tortilla chips and chocolate from Sainsburys
  • £3.00 – Chocolate from Thornton’s

Total – £10.59

£10 to savings (I took £0.59 out of change in my purse). However, I’m going to allocate £5 to actual savings and £5 to a replacement winter coat as mentioned in previous posts.

As part of decluttering and simplifying my wardrobe, I have got rid of a lot of clothes and am replacing some of them with classic items which I can wear for years to come. I sold a DVD boxset on Amazon, so I spent part of the profit from this on a white cardigan in a merino-cashmere blend which I can wear for work.

There was one clear item dominating the spend this week! I’m working on a project which is quite difficult and which has to be completed by the end of July. While my willpower is being used on this, I don’t have any left to resist chocolate. Unfortunately, eating a lot of chocolate tends to carry over to eating junk food generally: I’ve also had a takeaway and pizza this week! So I need to put some thought into making it easier to eat healthily and less convenient to buy chocolate.

One thought on “Frugal – spend cut – w/e 25/05/14

  1. Hi! We just published our answer to chocolate cravings & spending on our blog, and then coincidentally found your blog!…Our solution is chocolately flapjacks that are filling, frugal and so easy to make, give it a try, I am sure you will save money! We certainly have done!

Leave a Reply

