May 2014 declutter total

[I know it’s a few days early, but I’m out of the country for the rest of the month so won’t be decluttering again before June.]

Following my success in April, when I got rid of around 200 items, I was expecting a bit less progress in May. Here’s what I got rid of:

Sold on eBay

  • 1 Japanese tea ceremony kit
  • 2 Japanese yukata
  • 1 set grey wool
  • 1 set maroon wool
  • 1 set maroon and gold wool
  • 1 set green wool
  • 1 cross stitch kit
  • 1 crochet kit
  • 1 Japanese bag
  • 1 magazine and pattern
  • 1 set white wool
  • 1 toy
  • 1 icing set
  • 1 set of card blanks
  • 1 cook’s blowtorch
  • 8 patterns
  • 3 pairs shoes
  • 2 pieces of fabric

Sold on Amazon

  • 1 DVD box set

Donated to the media library at the local cafe

  • 4 Japanese books
  • 4 Japanese DVDs
  • 1 Italian DVD
  • 2 Russian DVDs

Donated to a local charity shop

  • 1 FCUK aftershave
  • 1 Russian doll
  • 1 personalised pen
  • 1 multi-tool
  • assorted thread
  • 5 free needle holders from magazines
  • 1 fabric bag
  • 1 birthday cake hat
  • 1 plate holder
  • assorted craft items
  • 3 men’s trousers
  • 1 t-shirt
  • 5 men’s shirts
  • 3 women’s shirts
  • 3 women’s skirts
  • 4 suits
  • 6 dresses
  • 13 coat hangers
  • 1 Christmas mug
  • 1 Christmas bowl
  • 1 Christmas plate
  • assorted blank cards
  • 1 needle holder and needles
  • 1 pair of pyjamas
  • 2 sets of insoles in packaging
  • 3 vest tops
  • 5 long sleeve tops
  • 4 short sleeve tops
  • 1 phone speaker
  • 1 ornament
  • 1 stereo
  • 2 cake tins
  • 3 plant pots
  • 1 vase
  • 4 sets of silicon bakeware
  • 1 heart mixing bowl
  • 1 heart whisk
  • 1 necklace
  • 6 magazines
  • 1 wool and needles kit
  • Assorted flags
  • 1 headscarf
  • 2 baskets
  • 1 glass
  • 3 mugs
  • 1 stool

Thrown away or recycled

  • 2 pairs brown tights
  • 1 bottle of hand gel
  • 5 packs of out-of-date bread flour (bought before I started eating gluten-free)
  • 1 pack of carpet cleaner (finally used the last bit and finished it off)
  • 1 pack of dishwasher cleaner (no idea how this came into the house, but I used it up)
  • 1 partly made dress
  • 1 partly made jacket
  • 1 almost-empty bottle of bleach (poured the bleach into another half-bottle so I could recycle one container)
  • 1 carton of bin freshener which we never remember to use.
  • 1 bottle of plant feed (bought for a bonsai tree which died years ago)
  • 2 packets of jam sugar (several years old, I didn’t eat much jam even when I did eat bread)
  • 1 pack of out-of-date cheese biscuits
  • 1 pack of out-of-date ice cream cones
  • 1 pack of breadsticks
  • 1 Christening ornament

Total: 166 items – nearly as much again as last month!

What I’m finding really liberating about decluttering is the sense of letting go. A lot of these items represent things I was planning to do and which can now be scrubbed from my list. For instance, I bought the cross-stitch kit around seven years ago to make as a present for someone. Every time I looked at it, I felt guilty that I hadn’t completed it. It was very freeing to finally admit to myself that I’m not going to complete the kit, in part because I’m no longer close to the person for whom I bought it as a present. Now, instead of thinking about how I have it to do and how I should make time for it, I can concentrate on doing other things that I actually want to do. In this sense, decluttering is acting as a form of updating. It makes me look at my life and say “I’ve outgrown this. That doesn’t suit the way I live now”. In turn, that gives me a better idea of what is important to me now, rather than what used to be or even what I think “should” be.

Leave a Reply

