Simplify – Weekly Wishes 09/06/14

One of the people I follow on Twitter is @jennengstudio. She regularly does a blog post called “Weekly Wishes”, in which she sets out some of the things she wants to achieve that week, and summarises how she did with last week’s goals. You can read more about it on her blog.

I keep an ongoing to-do list on Todoist, which generally works well for me in terms of things getting done eventually. I like being able to review my lists anywhere and to tick items off. However, where my list falls down is in the sense of prioritising. Quite often I’ll go on, tick off a load of the easiest jobs, and carry over all the difficult tasks which I don’t feel like doing.

I have decided to start doing my own weekly wishes as a way of focusing my attention. My hope is that by spelling out my priorities for the oncoming week, I’ll find it simpler to focus on them and end the week with some real added value. Given that this aims to focus, I’ll give myself a maximum of five weekly wishes, and preferably three, because there are only so many things you can focus on effectively in the same week.

So, my weekly wishes for 09/06/14 are:

  1. Running: I am taking part in Race for Life next Wednesday, so this week I would like to run twice in preparation for this. 5k is not a big distance, and I’ve completed it non-stop several times before, but because I run quite sporadically, I can’t yet complete it consistently every time I run.
  2. Dissertation: I’m working on a dissertation at the moment which has to be completed by the end of July. It is a huge stressor and I procrastinate a lot with it. At the same time, I know it has to be done and I know I feel better when I do some substantial work on it. This week I would like to block out Saturday to work on it, write up the majority of the literature review, and finish analysing and write up one section of the results (minimum 2,000 words).
  3. Family: It’s Fathers’ Day on Sunday. I haven’t visited my family since April, so this week I would like to bake a cake for my dad, take it and visit my family on Sunday.
  4. Green smoothies: I read something about green smoothies at the weekend and I would like to give them a go. This week I would like to use up the spinach in the fridge which is about to expire, and the raspberries in the freezer which have been there for a year, and have a green smoothie on three different days.

Looking at the weekly wishes, I suspect that Family and Green Smoothies will be quite easy to achieve, Running will be possible depending on the weather, and Dissertation will be difficult because I really don’t want to do it. Let’s see how the week goes!

4 thoughts on “Simplify – Weekly Wishes 09/06/14

  1. Great idea, sometimes it’s good to keep a focus list. It’s taken me years to create one that works for me so don’t be disheartened if your first go needs tweaking several times until it fits well. Good luck, I’ll look forward to reading how your race goes too 🙂

  2. Thank you so much for the mention!! Weekly wishes has been my little trick to getting things done! Once it’s out there, we are now responsible in accomplishing them 😉 Good luck with your goals this week. Oh, I don’t know why but a frozen banana makes every smoothie yummy, even the green ones.

  3. Best of luck with the dissertation! I find that I also put off difficult tasks on my to do list, but when I just sit down and work at them I usually feel pretty good when I’m finished. I have not heard of Todoist but I’ll check it out. I typically make a new to-do list for work and outside of work, every single day.

  4. I used to be really good at this but have fallen by the wayside over the past few months. I have a daily to do list but the running list and the weekly list have been forgotton. Or rather the running list is still there but I regularly ignore it. Thanks for the timely reminder to get back on the wagon.

Leave a Reply

