Frugal / Primal – healthy leftover muffins

We are going on holiday in a few days, so I wanted to use up some carrots and bananas we had hanging around. I made up the recipe below to take care of some other leftovers in the house:

  • 3 carrots, grated (roughly 2 cups)
  • 2 large bananas, mashed
  • 3 eggs
  • 1/2 cup raisins (all I had left, more would have been good)
  • 1/2 cup milled flax seeds (bought some ages ago and haven’t used)
  • 1/2 cup ground almonds
  • large tablespoon cinnamon (could have used twice as much)

It couldn’t be simpler, I just mixed everything together and put it in a silicone muffin tray. i cooked it in the oven at gas mark 5, for around 30 minutes (I just kept checking them until they looked fully set and an inserted knife came out clean).

I’ll eat half of them for breakfast for the next couple of days, and we’ll take the other half on the plane with us so we don’t pay Ryanair prices for breakfast!

Generally I think the muffins turned out pretty well. I didn’t add any sugar, and they weren’t quite sweet enough for me, but I do have a very sweet tooth. That’s why I think more raisins might have added a bit more sweetness, and a bit more cinnamon would have added more flavour (I love cinnamon!). Otherwise, the texture was good, and I can’t think of a better way to eat carrots!

Carrot and banana muffins

Carrot and banana muffins

 

Leave a Reply

