Frugal – a year of free fun – month 2

July was my month 2 of trying to spend as little as possible on entertainment. I think I did pretty well, as I spent a lot of time reading books from the local library at zero cost to me.

In terms of free entertainment and my originally stated goals, I

  • worked on an existing craft project for which I didn’t need to buy anything.
  • put more free craft items for sale on eBay.
  • went to two language meetups, three knit groups and met friends three times, for under £10.
  • had a free walk around London in the sunshine (travel paid by Work).
  • kept watching free online TV and also used a free Amazon Prime trial.
  • borrowed around 10 books from the local library.
  • used Memrise to study languages for free.

So this month’s total spend on fun was:

  • £1.99 – postage of two letters (taken from eBay profits)
  • £6.55 – meal at one knit group
  • £1.00 – drink at one language meetup
Leave a Reply

