Frugal – spend cut – w/e 28/09/14

Back on track:)

From my weekly budget of £18 (minus £2.00 spent last week), I have spent:

  • £0.69 – birthday card for my uncle.
  • £2.20 – tea and chocolate at language meetup
  • £3.00 – donations to Macmillan cancer research during coffee morning
  • £10.00 – five bottles of Avon bubble bath brought through my sister-in-law. They are being discontinued and should last me two years.

Total – £15.89

In other money saving, I’ve now set up an energy switch with USwitch via TopCashBack. We should therefore save on our dual fuel bills, and also receive around £20 through TopCashBack for switching. I should note that I originally tried to switch in April via SimplySwitch and their service was appalling; no action on the switch, ignored emails, promised things over the phone which never happened, and also ignored an official complaint letter. Avoid them like the plague!

We are renewing our home insurance this week, obviously after looking at comparison websites. The cheapest quote was via comparethemarket and is around £220 cheaper than we were quoted by our current provider. Always shop around before renewing!

I’ve also applied for a new M&S current account and if accepted, will get a £125 giftcard for switching to them. There is no minimum monthly pay-in so I’ll switch from another old account with no monthly pay-in.

I’m also switching our joint current account from Santander to Nationwide, as Santander have stopped offering us free travel insurance but we’ll get it from Nationwide.

So there have been a lot of utility activities this month, which should lead to reduced bills and other benefits in the future.

Leave a Reply

