Frugal – spend cut – w/e 12/10/14

From my weekly budget of £20, I have spent:

  • £2.00 – chocolate and boxes of tissues for the office on Tuesday
  • £2.29 – chocolate and bubble bath on Wednesday
  • £0.60 – pack of tictacs for the office
  • £2.00 – candy floss
  • £3.00 – cheesy chips
  • £1.95 – cup of tea

Total – £11.84

The latter three items were bought on a trip to Stratford. I got free travel as a staff volunteer on a student trip organised by my university, but then ended up spending a bit while I was there. I’m doing two more trips in November, so my aim is to spend a bit less for those two.

The £10 I thought was spent on bubble bath at the end of September, turned out not to have been spent as it was out of stock, so that will go into savings, along with £8 from this week’s budget.

I have been accepted for a new M&S current account so now need to switch my old account in order to get my giftcard. A friend has also done this but went directly through the M&S site and was only offered a £100 giftcard there, so if you want to do it, make sure you go through MoneySavingExpert.

From my new work shoes budget of £60, I spent £54.98 on replacement shoes. I waited quite a while to see if I could find a cheaper price but nothing came up. Just so you know it was time to buy new shoes, here is a picture of the heels of the old ones:

old shoes

old shoes

I have no idea how I’ve managed to wear the heel diagonally like that, but it happens to quite a lot of my shoes, and my dad wears his out in the same way…

From my outerwear general budget of £300, I spent £33.15 on another pair of replacement shoes. These will be worn for work but also for the weekend. I have had the previous pair a couple of years and they have some holes on the heels, so are letting in both rain and stones:

Old shoe with holes

More old shoes

Leave a Reply

