January 2015 declutter total

Sold on eBay

  • 1 chess set
  • 6 magazines
  • 1 packet of novelty chocolates

Sold on Amazon

  • 1 book

Given to the charity shop

  • 1 mini-tagine and spices
  • 2 tops
  • 1 Christmas tree-shaped card holder
  • 1 metal fruit bowl
  • 2 ironing board covers
  • 1 skirt

Recycled

  • A pack of writing paper I’d never used

Thrown away

  • Assorted hosiery and underwear with holes or broken elastic

Total 18 items

I am having serious problems at the moment with my husband’s cluttering/hoarding and it is causing a lot of fights. He has always brought home a lot of computer items from his work and stored them in our house, and from before Christmas there was an excessive amount of items here, so that the hall, corridor and living room became full and difficult to use.

A green sofa covered with items of clutter

It has been months since the sofa has been clear

 

A living room full of clutter

Living room full of random items

An area of a living room piled high with boxes

I keep my handbag in the red box, I had to step over piles of stuff to get there for a couple of weeks

A narrow hallway with computer items down on wall

Computers and monitors stacked in our corridor for over two months

I feel like I am fighting a losing battle with clutter, and like the more I clear out a space, the more my husband brings in something else to fill the empty place. If I stack up his piles of stuff to create more space, he spreads out more items so I’m back to square 1. I’ve tried talking, shouting, and since last September I have refused to sit in our living room unless it was clear, with nothing stored on the floor or the sofas – it has not been clear once since then. I really feel like I’m reaching breaking point, and I don’t know what to do. If anyone has any suggestions about dealing with someone else’s clutter, I would really like to hear them.

Leave a Reply

