Frugal – spend cut – w/e 01/03/15

From my weekly budget of £20, I have spent:

  • £15.00 – restaurant night with Japanese language group. More expensive than just getting a hot drink at the meeting place, but this is the first time we’ve been to a restaurant in around two years of running the group.

Total – £15.00

£5.00 into savings.

I’m now starting to track food spend, since it seems that our food budget keeps running out towards the end of the month. We can afford to spend £35 per week. I tend to do a few small shops as I can walk home via the local supermarket but can only carry so much home with me. My husband also does small food shops, sometimes paying in cash and not getting a refund from the “food account” so it’s a bit hard to track what’s going where. This week:

  • Shaoxing rice wine – £3.29
  • Soy sauce – £0.95

Sub-total: £4.24. Both required for a specific recipe which I was planning to make as I thought we had both these ingredients. However, my husband had thrown away the existing stock…

  • Shower gel x 2 – £1.80
  • Hand wash – £0.90
  • Unsalted butter – £0.90
  • Actimel x 24 – £4.90
  • Cooking bacon – £1.15
  • Mango panna cotta x 2 – £1.69 (sucked in by a yellow sticker!)
  • Mushrooms – £0.59
  • Probiotic yoghurt – £1.35
  • Toilet roll – £3.50

Sub-total: £15.78. Everything here is what I’d consider an essential, regular purchase, except for the panna cotta.

Total: £20.02. A lot of this will last for more than one week, so I think this is quite a good weekly total.

2 thoughts on “Frugal – spend cut – w/e 01/03/15

  1. I’m learning such a lot from your blog. I don’t comment much, but I’m here, lurking along and reading your posts, and just thought I’d mention how useful I’m finding your posts. So thankyou!

Leave a Reply

