Frugal – spend cut – w/e 15/03/15

From my weekly budget of £20, I have spent:

  • £1.58 – birthday cards for both my grandparents.
  • £1.00 – chocolate.
  • £1.00 – more chocolate
  • £10.00 – leaving present for a direct report.
  • £4.00 – postage for the hold-ups bought last week, forgot to count this before.

Total – £17.58 £2.42 into savings.

This week’s food spend is as follows:

  • 4 avocados – £1.75
  • 2 Lamb shanks – £4.64
  • Pork shoulder – £2.84
  • Cheese – £1.69
  • Duck crown – £5.09
  • Lamb shank – £2.44
  • Blueberry cheesecake – £3.99

Subtotal: £22.44 Everything apart from the avocados was on offer, usually at between 30-50% of original price. The cheesecake is the obvious non-essential item, it was a spur-of-the-moment purchase to cheer me up after more stress at work. All the meat will go in the freezer and be used over the coming weeks. Duck and lamb are a bit extravagant, but they are mine and my husband’s favourites and we only buy them when on offer.

At the weekend my husband went to the supermarket and spent £53.07, not sure what on but there still seems to be quite a lot of vegetables in the fridge.

Total – £75.51 – over twice the weekly budget, although there will be some items left over for the next week.

From my present budget (£350/year) I spent £23.98 on some flowers to be delivered to my mum for Mother’s Day. I would normally make a cake or something and take it to her, but I didn’t visit her this year.

Leave a Reply

