Frugal – spend cut – w/e 12/04/15

From my weekly budget of £20, I have spent:

  • £0.00

Total – £0 £20 into savings.

From the remaining £10 balance on my M&S giftcard (from switching current accounts), I spent £5.00 on some new socks. I’ve thrown away lots of pairs with holes in them, and was struggling to have enough socks between washes and drying, so this was a useful buy and didn’t involve any cash spend.

From my travel budget I have spent:

  • £103.98 – currency for my trip (should cover 7 days of food in a relatively expensive city)
  • €107 – card for five days which covers all public transport and entry tickets.

This week’s food spend is as follows:

  • Beef frying steaks – £2.47
  • Turkey steaks – £1.99
  • Medium chicken – £3.59
  • Turkey mince – £1.79
  • 2 butternut squash – £1.58
  • Pears – £1.19
  • Cauliflower – £0.69
  • Sweet potatoes – £0.95
  • Bananas – £1.06
  • Mushrooms – £1.69
  • Courgettes – £1.39
  • Wholemeal bread – £0.55
  • Cabbage – £0.45
  • Beetroot – £0.45
  • Peppers – £1.17
  • Broccoli – £0.44
  • 2 x grapes – £0.98
  • Leeks – £0.29
  • Carrots – £0.49
  • Avocados – £1.49
  • Parsnips – £0.39
  • Blueberries – £1.49

Subtotal – £26.58

I normally do my shopping on foot, but when I visit my parents I usually drive home past Aldi and decided to stop off there this time. I was quite impressed with the prices of fruit and veg there. I feel like I’ve got a week’s worth there for just over £25.

  • Olives – £2.50
  • Allspice – £1.00
  • Air freshener – £1.00
  • Beef frying steak – £4.50

Subtotal – £9.00

Total – £35.58. £0.58 over budget, but spice and air freshener will last for a lot longer than a week. As I’m away next week, I expect food spend to be below budget anyway.

Leave a Reply

