Whole30 – days 6-10

A transparent plastic container with mince, cauliflower rice and kale

Whole30 lunch

Day 6 – 12/05/15 – I was back at work so pre-made food became the order of the day, which also led to a lot of repetition (fortunately I’m happy to eat the same meal for several days in a row, especially if it means I don’t have to cook every night). For a full week I’ll normally cook once at the weekend and once during the week, leading to a bit more of a change, but for a four-day week I just cooked the full amount at once. Energy levels good, digestion poor in the morning but ok for the rest of the day.

  • Breakfast: 2 eggs, peppers, mushrooms, gherkins
  • Lunch: Moroccan meatballs, cauliflower rice, kale
  • Dinner: 2 chicken thigh fillets, cauliflower rice, roasted veg, homemade mayo (I ate it in two lots, before and after an evening out)

Day 7 – 13/05/15 – Energy levels good, digestion ok. At this point I was starting to get a bit fed up of cauliflower rice twice a day! Dinner was the last bit (except for the next two lunches). I find that I’m still feeling like I want to eat more often. I feel hungry but not-hungry, in a way that’s hard to describe. An hour after eating breakfast, I start thinking “when is it time for lunch?”, and I’m eating lunch earlier than usual as well. However, I can wait another hour without getting any hungrier, and I don’t have any physical signs such as stomach rumbling, headache or distraction, so I think it must just be psychological.

  • Breakfast: 2 eggs, peppers, mushrooms, basil
  • Lunch: Moroccan meatballs, cauliflower rice, kale
  • Dinner: 2 chicken thigh fillets, cauliflower rice, roasted veg, homemade mayo

Day 8 – 14/05/15 – Energy good, digestion ok in the morning but not so good in the evening. I took some nuts to work with me as a snack, but wasn’t that hungry and didn’t need them in the end. I didn’t feel any sugar cravings. I got to the end of the chicken thighs, so will need to cook something for dinners after day 8.

  • Breakfast: 2 eggs, peppers, mushrooms, gherkins
  • Lunch: Moroccan meatballs, cauliflower rice, kale
  • Dinner: 2 chicken thigh fillets, fried onion and mushrooms, homemade mayo

Day 9 – 15/05/15 – energy good, digestion bad. My hunger needs to be regulating itself better now.

  • Breakfast: 2 eggs, peppers, mushrooms, basil
  • Lunch: Moroccan meatballs, cauliflower rice, kale
  • Dinner: 1 egg with chopped artichokes, gherkins, onion and mince, sauteed cabbage, five paleo Czech meatballs

Day 10 – 16/05/15 – energy good, digestion ok. I was working a full day, in a shopping centre so surrounded by lots of templation. To counter this, I planned to prepare breakfast and lunch and take them with me. I wanted something that would be easy and discreet to eat in public, so I made egg muffins.

  • Breakfast: Egg muffins: 3 eggs, artichokes, gherkins, onion, beef mince
  • Lunch: Egg muffins: 3 eggs, artichokes, gherkins, onion, beef mince
  • Dinner: kuku paka, half an avocado

Both during this Whole30 and my original trial, my experience was not particularly in line with the Whole30 Timeline. I think this may be because I had already seriously limited grains in my diet, and cut down on dairy. Both times, I didn’t have the “hangover”, “kill all the things” or “nap” phases at all, for which I’m grateful! I did experience a downturn in digestion both times, which may align with the “my pants are tighter” phase. Day 10, according to the timeline, should be one of the hardest days, but I didn’t feel a big difference. It really helped that I had food prepared in advance, that makes a big difference as to whether I stick to healthy food or am tempted through hunger.

Leave a Reply

