Whole30 – days 21-25

Beef jerky

Beef jerky

Day 21 – 27/05/15 – energy ok, digestion good, hunger stable. This evening I made some brownies for a colleague’s birthday and was not particularly tempted to try a piece or to eat the leftover batter out of the mixing bowl (cook’s perk!).

  • Breakfast: 2 eggs, beef mince, mushrooms, peppers
  • Lunch: Lamb rump steak, roasted cabbage, sweet potato
  • Dinner: 2 chicken drumsticks with paprika and garlic powder, some leftover duck, some brisket and fat left over when I was slicing brisket for beef jerky.

Day 22 – 28/05/15 – energy ok, digestion good. I had lunch out, and my chicken was pretty small, so I was really hungry by the time I got home from work. I’m definitely better off cooking my own lunch.

  • Breakfast: 2 eggs, beef mince, mushrooms, peppers
  • Lunch: Nando’s 1/4 chicken (plain), 2 x mixed salad sides
  • Dinner: beef mince, 2 eggs, olives

Day 23 – 29/05/15 – energy ok, digestion good. I was hungry again today, I could have eaten dinner at 4pm if I hadn’t been at work! My homemade beef jerky was somewhat of a disaster, it was crunchy and burnt rather than chewy, but actually I still liked the taste.

  • Breakfast: 2 eggs, beef mince, mushrooms, peppers
  • Lunch: beef mince, sweet potato, sauerkraut
  • Dinner: frying steak, mushrooms, sriracha, homemade beef jerky

Day 24 – 30/05/15 – energy ok, but I’ve noticed I’ve had trouble getting to sleep the last few nights, which does impact on my ability to get up in the morning. Digestion good. Hunger stable. I had some sugar cravings while I was out and about, but I think they were mainly psychological and based on the fact that I would normally “treat myself” to something sugary at a similar event.

  • Breakfast: Whole almonds (I was going out and there was a problem getting into our kitchen, so I bought almonds on the way to the bus station, instead of making egg muffins as planned).
  • Lunch: Two pieces cracklin’ chicken, half an avocado, meatza made with turkey mince, tomato paste, mushrooms and olives
  • Dinner: More meatza

Day 25 – 31/05/15 – energy ok, digestion good. I felt very hungry today in the morning, I had lunch in two sittings at around 11:00 and 12:30, and dinner at around 17:00. I’ve noticed I feel more hungry at the weekends or when working from home, and I wonder if this is psychological based on the availability of food.

  • Breakfast: Two eggs, beef mince, artichokes, olives
  • Lunch: Two pieces cracklin’ chicken, leftover meatza, almonds
  • Dinner: Chicken with tomato and coriander sauce, courgette noodles, two dates
Leave a Reply

