Whole30 – days 26-30

The final stretch! I was not sure if I’d make it to the end since I’d be flying overseas on day 29 and at meetings on day 30, where I might not have a lot of choice in what I ate (as there would be lunch and dinner organised by the hosts which I would need to attend and if they picked e.g. a pizza place I would struggle to find something Whole30-compliant).

Day 26 – 01/06/15 – energy good, digestion bad in the morning but improved, quite hungry in the afternoon.

  • Breakfast: 2 eggs, mushrooms, pepper, beef mince
  • Lunch: Chicken with tomato and coriander sauce, courgette noodles
  • Dinner: beef mince, 1 egg, sriracha, sauerkraut, artichokes

Day 27 – 02/06/15 – in London for work, but at an event where lunch is not provided so I could take compliant food with me. Energy good, digestion bad in the morning but better throughout the day. I’m not sure where to go now with digestion, it doesn’t seem like there are a lot of foods left for me to cut out!

  • Breakfast: 2 eggs, mushrooms, pepper, beef mince
  • Lunch: Chicken with tomato and coriander sauce, courgette noodles
  • Dinner: steak, avocado, pistachio nuts

Day 28 – 03/06/15 0 energy ok, digestion better than the last two days.

  • Breakfast: 2 eggs, mushrooms, pepper, beef mince
  • Lunch: Chicken with tomato and coriander sauce, courgette noodles
  • Dinner:beef mince, sauerkraut, sriracha, olives, 2 eggs, pistachio nuts

Day 29 – 04/06/15 – travel day for my work business trip. I had a 4.15am start so made some egg muffins to eat for breakfast and lunch, as an easily transportable way of staying compliant so close to the end. I bumped into the other meeting participants when I checked in, but as I had planning to visit some places in the afternoon, I didn’t hang around with them so didn’t get roped into a pre-meeting dinner, which made it easy to stay compliant.

  • Breakfast: Egg muffins: 2 eggs, mushrooms, pepper, beef mince
  • Lunch: more egg muffins
  • Dinner: 1 apple, 1 pear

Day 30 – 05/06/15

  • Breakfast: scrambled eggs, turkey sausage, ham, apple (couldn’t check the meat ingredients but it was as close to compliance as I could get)
  • Lunch: Grilled chicken salad (there was some sort of dressing on it which was probably not compliant)
  • World cafe: this was an event as part of my work, and the other participants had brought local delicacies with them. I didn’t want to resist homemade Danish smorrebrod or Italian amoretti biscuits, so I ate and enjoyed them, along with licquorice, Spanish cheese and some English biscuits. Whole30 broken, but mindfully.
  • Dinner: beef carpaccio, salad, parmesan; pork cheeses with apple and prune, fried potatoes; triple chocolate mousse cake. Once again, I wanted to eat some special food as this was a once-in-a-lifetime trip to Malta.

Conclusions

  1. Whole30 isn’t enough to solve the digestive problems I experience, but it does reduce the frequency and severity.
  2. It improves my energy levels.
  3. I find it quite easy to stick to on an average day, but difficult when I’m travelling.
  4. My sugar cravings reduce, but I still experience psychological cravings for sweet things.
  5. As I haven’t been able to finish a complete Whole30 and then try the reintroduction period, I will schedule another Whole30 for a period when I definitely won’t be travelling for at least 40 days (possibly mid-August to end-September).
Leave a Reply

