June 2015 declutter total

Sold on eBay

  • 10 cards and envelopes

Given away

  • 31 cards and envelopes
  • Piece of fabric
  • 4-piece suit
  • 1 vest top
  • 4 Japanese good luck charms
  • 1 coaster
  • 1 CD
  • 16 magazines
  • 1 notebook
  • 4 items of my mum’s clothes I tried to sell on eBay for her since last summer
  • 2 packs of interfacing
  • 1 picnic rucksack and accessories

Recycled/used up/thrown away

  • Almost-empty bottle of perfume
  • 1 face mask
  • 3 batteries
  • 1 solar panel charger (all the connectors are missing)
  • 1 eyeliner
  • 1 lipstick
  • 1 cream eyeshadow
  • 2 foundation samples
  • 1 box plasters (combined witn another box
  • Assortment of tags/pieces which I don’t know what they are
  • Packaging for an item I never use
  • A non-specific birthday card from our drawer (instead of buying one with a relative name on)
  • 1 almost-empty can of dry shampoo
  • 1 blister plaster box (2 boxes combined into 1)
  • 4 packets expired medical products
  • 1 tape measure
  • 1 broken earring
  • 1 pack branded mints
  • 1 lipbalm
  • Assorted business cards
  • 2 hair clips
  • 1 badge
  • 1 melted pot of Vaseline
  • 1 soap dish
  • 1 free item for saving water (never been opened, let alone fitted)
  • 2 pieces of foam which had been kept as potential packaging

Total 113 items – I did a sweep through after work on 1 June and got rid of 31 items, which made me feel like I’d got off to a good start for the month. I think that encouraged me to keep going for the rest of the month. I find that sometimes I just feel more ready to have a clear-out and let go of things. At other times, I feel like I’ve reached a limit and really couldn’t get rid of anything else, then a little while passes and I can start looking more critically again, at which point I wonder why I’ve kept half of what I’ve kept.

Leave a Reply

