Frugal – spend cut – w/e 19/07/15

From my weekly budget of £20, I have spent:

  • £1.00 – chocolate orange (I’m finding it really hard to resist them while they’re on offer)
  • £2.60 –  4 salted caramel and chocolate cookies (I almost never eat cookies so I bought these to eat on the way home from a work event. I felt quite sick after eating them though, so I want to remember this next time I think of eating cookies).
  • £1.50 – drink at language meetup
  • £0.80 – chocolate
  • £0.99 – wax strips
  • £10.00 – saved to my holiday budget

Total £16.89, £3.11 into savings.

Food shopping

  • Bin bags – £0.60
  • Toothpaste – £0.35
  • Avocados – £1.50
  • Apples – £1.50
  • Beef mince – £6.95
  • Salted caramel torte – £2.39 (reduced)
  • Steak – £4.50
  • Eggs – £2.00

Subtotal – £19.79

  • Washing powder – £4.00
  • Toilet roll – £3.00
  • Adhesive hooks for wall hangings – £1.99 (not really food but for the home and cheap so I took them from the food budget)

Subtotal – £8.99

  • Canteloupe – £1.00
  • Sweet potatoes – £1.25
  • Avocados – £1.50
  • Onions – £1.40
  • Pork loin steak – £2.54

Subtotal – £7.69

Total – £36.47. I spent a lot on chocolate this week, in the run-up to a Whole20. That should at least stop now for a couple of weeks, although meat spend may go up accordingly. We’re still underspent so far though so I don’t see it as a problem.

Running total for July – monthly budget £150, £50.32 spent, £99.68 remaining.

3 thoughts on “Frugal – spend cut – w/e 19/07/15

  1. Do you use an app to track your spend? Do you take the cash out for the entire month or do you use your debit card?

    • I don’t use an app; since I don’t spend much I just update my blog from my receipts or from memory on the same day. I usually spend on my credit card where possible as I get points for that, but then I check the credit card balance a couple of times per month and always pay it off in full.

Leave a Reply

