Whole20 – days 1-5

I’ve decided to try a Whole20 leading up to my birthday at the beginning of August. Over June and July, I’ve done some travelling and had some meals out, and have ended up eating lots of sugar and some carbs as well on some occasions. It’s not doing me any good so I’d like to take a break, with a view to doing another Whole30 in October (as I’m aware of some travel coming up in September). There is one day next week when I have lunch organised through work so I’m not sure if anything compliant will be available, but apart from that I should be ok.

Day 1 – 17/07/15 – .I was tempted to eat chocolate a few times but it seems to be much easier not to eat chocolate when I’ve told myself that I’m doing WholeXX.

  • Breakfast: 2 eggs, beef mince, pepper
  • Lunch: frying steak, avocado, sweet potato, apple
  • Dinner: frying steak, courgette noodles, tomato

Day 2 – 18/07/15 – I felt fine today, not too hungry, not too chocolate-cravy. I even went into a shop selling my nemesis, chocolate oranges for £1, and felt a momentary sadness that I was missing a bargain, but wasn’t really tempted.

  • Breakfast: 2 eggs, beef mince, mushrooms, banana (a random addition since it needed using up), olive oil
  • Lunch: steak, courgette noodles, tomato
  • Dinner: steak, courgette noodles, onions, fish sauce, ginger, lemongrass, fresh orange juice

Day 3 – 19/07/15 – Last night I dreamt I was eating non-compliant things and feeling bad about it! Today I felt really hungry for most of the day, not particularly for non-compliant foods, but hungry very shortly after I’d just eaten.

  • Breakfast: 2 eggs, beef mince, mushrooms, pickled red cabbage, gherkins, olive oil
  • Lunch: 4 cracklin’ chicken thighs, sauerkraut, apple
  • Dinner: pork loin steak, avocado, canteloupe

Day 4 – 20/07/15.- I had another very hungry day, and was also really bloated and uncomfortable all day. I suppose this is all the sugar and carbs from last week leaving my system.

  • Breakfast: 2 eggs, beef mince, pepper, gherkins
  • Lunch: 1 cracklin’ chicken thigh, sweet potato, avocado, gherkins, olives, apple
  • Snack: cashew nuts
  • Dinner: 2 pork loin steaks, artichokes, courgette noodles, caramelised onions, beef mince, two coriander chicken drumsticks

Day 5 – 21/07/15 – Last night I dreamt I was eating biscuits again. Despite that, I felt good today, not too hungry, not with any particular cravings

  • Breakfast: 2 eggs, beef mince, pepper, gherkins
  • Lunch:1 cracklin’ chicken thigh, sweet potato, avocado, gherkins, olives, apple
  • Dinner: two coriander chicken drumsticks, caramelised onions, leftover eggs from what I was making for breakfast for the rest of the week
Leave a Reply

