Whole20 – days 6-10

Day 6 – 22/07/15 – My lunch was a bit small today and I was very hungry by the time I got home from work. I also wanted something sugary and ended up eating a lot of dates. Apart from that, I felt good, with reasonable energy despite a 4.30am wake-up call.

  • Breakfast: 2 eggs, beef mince, pepper, gherkins (muffin-shaped)
  • Lunch: Chicken breast, coconut milk, plum tomatoes, mixed vegetables and spices, apple
  • Dinner: chicken breast, marinated artichokes, olives, avocado, caramelised onions, several handfuls of dates, canteloupe.

Day 7 – 23/07/15 – Another small lunch, and I went out straight after work so I felt a bit hungry, but other than that a steady day with few cravings and good energy.

  • Breakfast: 2 eggs, beef mince, pepper, gherkins (muffin-shaped)
  • Lunch: Chicken breast, coconut milk, plum tomatoes, mixed vegetables and spices, two apples.
  • Dinner: Chicken breast, coconut milk, plum tomatoes, mixed vegetables and spices, steak

Day 8 – 24/07/15 – I was aware going into the Whole20 that this would be a non-compliance danger day as I had an all-day work meeting with my new team, off-site, with a standard work lunch booked. I ended up eating loads of non-compliant food during the day, leading to more sugar cravings in the evening. I even went to the shop with the intention of getting another chocolate orange for £1, but fortunately for me they had put the price up to £1.95 so I didn’t bother. For the whole evening I had terrible bloating and stomach discomfort, so that’s a clear sign that this kind of food is no good for me. Anyway, day 8 was a complete fail, but rather than starting again I just carried on with day 9, as psychologicallyl it felt better to ignore day 8 as a blip, and in health terms it’s better to carry on for another 12 days than just give up.

  • Breakfast: 2 eggs, beef mince, pepper, gherkins (muffin-shaped)
  • Snack: 9(!) biscuits (they came in packs of three)
  • Lunch: 4 chicken goujons, 2 samosas, 1 pakora, 2 ham and cheese mini-wraps, 1 sausage roll, 1 piece of fruit cake, 6 macaroons, 1 piece watermelon, 2 strawberries, 1 bunch black grapes.
  • Dinner: steak, caramelised onions, canteloupe

Day 9 – 25/07/15.- Today was hard, after eating sugar on day 8 all the cravings were reawoken on day 9. I went to a nearby city where I only go every few months and felt really tempted to buy sweet things there, under the guise of being unlikely to eat them again for the next few months. Luckily I was able to tell myselfl that the shops and restaurants I was looking at would still be there next time I go, and I didn’t need to try what I was looking at exactly on day 9. I also went past the chocolate orange aisle at the supermarket, but prices were up in that aisle as well. Apart from the sugar cravings, I didn’t feel particularly hungry

  • Breakfast: 2 eggs, beef mince, banana, caramelised onions, olive oil
  • Lunch: chicken breast, marinated artichokes, olives
  • Dinner: Belly pork, fish sauce, orange juice, ginger, chilli, garlic powder, 2 apples

Day 10 – 26/07/15 – Another day of bad sugar cravings, and being alone in the house all day, in the cold and rainy weather, I ended up caving and going to the nearby shop to buy lots of chocolate-y junk food, which I then ate most of. I felt guilty even while I was eating it, and it wasn’t very tasty, so I can’t say I got a lot out of it. I just felt really compelled to eat it. I can see I still have some work to do on my cravings and on why I eat chocolate and sugar, because it’s rarely to do with enjoyment and often in spite of the fact that I’m not really enjoying it.

  • Breakfast: 3 eggs, belly pork, onion, olive oil
  • Lunch: Fat from roast lamb joint, canteloupe
  • Dinner: chocolate caramel slices, chocolate brownies
Leave a Reply

