Project333 – July 2015 (month 2)

Here’s what I wore in July.

  • 1 July – work (major heatwave in the UK) – black dress with red and pink flowers, sandals
  • 2 July – day off at home – black sundress, black sparkly t-shirt
  • 3 July – work and visiting friend – black skirt, black shirt, sandals
  • 4 July – home and picnic – black trousers, black and pink top, black shoes
  • 5 July – home – black trousers, black and pink top, black shoes (yes, the same thing two days in a row…)
  • 6 July – home – jeans, black sparkly t-shirt (normally I only wear this t-shirt for special occasions although I really love it, so it feels good to have worn it twice in a week and not to have to save it just for “best”).
  • 7 July – work – grey/silver trousers, white top, black shoes.
  • 8 July – work and lunch out – white skirt, black t-shirt, red cardigan, red shoes
  • 9 July – work – black trousers, black sparkly top, red cardigan, red shoes
  • 10 July – work – black trousers, red top, red shoes
  • 11 July – visiting family – black trousers, black and pink top, black shoes, sunglasses
  • 12 July – visiting family – black trousers, pink top, black shoes
  • 13 July – work – grey/silver trousers, black shirt, black shoes, coat.
  • 14 July – work event – white skirt, black t-shirt, black cardigan, black shoes
  • 15 July – work – red/white/black dress, red cardigan, red shoes
  • 16 July – work and lunch out – grey trousers, black and pink top, black shoes
  • 17 July – work – grey/silver trousers, purple top, black shoes
  • 18 July – home, walk, volunteering – black trousers, black and pink top, black shoes
  • 19 July – home, walk – jeans, black sparkly top, black shoes
  • 20 July – work – pink wrap dress, black shoes
  • 21 July – work – grey/silver trousers, sparkly white top, black shoes
  • 22 July – work – pink long-sleeve top, grey trousers, black shoes
  • 23 July – work – red/white/black dress, red cardigan, red shoes
  • 24 July – work – black trousers, purple top, black shoes
  • 25 July – volunteering, trip to nearby city – jeans, black vest top, black jumper, black shoes
  • 26 July – home, volunteering interview – black trousers, pink top, black shoes
  • 27 July – work – black/red/pink dress, black cardigan, black shoes
  • 28 July – work – black trousers, black/pink top, black shoes
  • 29 July – work and language cafe – grey trousers, red t-shirt, black cardigan, red shoes
  • 30 July – work – white skirt, black t-shirt, red cardigan, red shoes
  • 31 July – work – pink long-sleeve top, grey/silver trousers, black shoes

After the second month, it still seems fairly easy to do this and there are several benefits. July in the UK went from extremely hot at the beginning, to wintry and cold with lots of rain towards the end, but I still managed to cover it all out of Project333. I swapped in my summer coat for my winter coat one day, but that’s it.

I am starting to see now where I have shortcomings in my wardrobe. I have a lot more skirts and dresses than trousers, but actually I end up wearing trousers most of the time, particularly at the weekend. The trousers I have don’t fit me well at the moment, so I’m keeping an eye out for a couple of new (or secondhand) pairs, which could replace the current ones. Cardigans are a big wardrobe staple for me, so I should keep an eye out for ones to replace the current ones when they start to wear. I’ve been looking for a white cardigan for months, but can’t find exactly what I want.

I wouldn’t say I spent a lot of time thinking about what to wear before, but now I spend even less, particularly because a lot of my clothes seem to be in the wash at any one time. I really enjoy hanging my clothes – previously I had some things in the wardrobe and some folded in drawers, but for Project333 I put everything in the wardrobe, and it seems a lot easier to put things away. My aim now is to be able to fit all of my clothes into the one wardrobe, by gradually weeding out the items that I never wear. While I work that out, it’s not really a problem to have what I’m not currently wearing in the drawer.

I find myself having less patience with clothes that don’t fit or that don’t suit me, now I end up wearing them more often. There are definitely a couple of items which I don’t really enjoy wearing and which are basically there until I find a replacement, such as my white sparkly top, which is very unflattering.

Leave a Reply

