Whole30 days 26-30 October 2015

Day 26 – 26/10/15 – As the clocks went back in the UK, I wanted to retain my wake-up time which had now become 6am. I got up then and my energy was good all day. I was hungrier than usual in the morning. My digestion showed some improvement during the day.

  • Breakfast: Eggs, turkey breast, mushrooms, olives, apple
  • Lunch: Pork stew, sauerkraut, artichokes, pear
  • Dinner: Merguez meatballs and cauliflower rice, paleo chicken

Day 27 – 27/10/15 – I woke up at 6am again and had good energy. My digestion was good in the morning.

  • Breakfast: Eggs, turkey breast, mushrooms, olives, pear
  • Lunch: Pork stew, sauerkraut, artichokes, apple, pear
  • Dinner:Paleo chicken, pork chop, savoy cabbage, avocado, dried fruit.

Day 28 – 28/10/15 -I woke up at 6am again and had good energy. My digestion was poor in the morning, and very noisy throughout the day. so I’m going to assume that dried fruit is a trigger for me and avoid it from now on.

  • Breakfast: Eggs, mince, caramelised onion
  • Lunch: Pork stew, sweet potato, savoy cabbage, apple, pear
  • Dinner: Mince, cauliflower rice, caramelised onion, olives

Day 29 – 29/10/15 – my energy was good today. My digestion showed some improvement but was still not 100%. I was reallly hungry in the afternoon, but was out straight after work so couldn’t eat until later. I managed to resist. I noticed that my sugar cravings are reduced and at the moment I don’t feel particularly inclined to eat unhealthy food, but I am looking at paleo sweet recipes and planning to make my own chocolate as soon as I can.

  • Breakfast: Eggs, mince, caramelised onion, sauerkraut
  • Lunch: Cauliflower rice, mince, caramelised onion, sauerkraut, apple, pear
  • Dinner: Cauliflower rice, mince, olives, sauerkraut

Day 30 – 30/10/15 – It took me a while to get to sleep as I was feeling quite stressed about work, so then I was quite tired when the alarm went off and didn’t get up until 6.25am. My digestion was a bit improved but still not great. I was very hungry in the afternoon again, and was working late but managed to wait until hometime to eat.

  • Breakfast: Eggs, mince, caramelised onion
  • Lunch: Pork stew, sweet potato, savoy cabbage, apple, pear
  • Dinner: Steak, artichokes, olives, mushrooms

So what now? I’ve finished the Whole30 but haven’t got exactly the results I wanted, as it hasn’t solved my digestive problems. At the moment I’m planning to take a day off on 31 October, then start from 1 November with the aim of eating Whole30 six days a week and allowing myself to go offplan on the seventh day. This day would be flexible so that I could tie it in to occasions where sticking to Whole30 is difficult e.g. going for a meal with others who have chosen the restaurant, travelling. I hope this will allow my digestion to recover further, and also avoid the situation I got into before this Whole30, where I was eating ridiculous amounts of chocolate which then led to eating more carbs in general.

Leave a Reply

