October 2015 declutter total

Sold on eBay

  • 1 knitting magazine
  • 1 meerkat toy

Given away

  • 4 cloth napkins
  • 1 book
  • 3 mugs
  • 1 jacket
  • 2 sets of dividers in wrappers
  • 2 folders
  • 7 notebooks (one in wrapper, 5 unwrapped but completely brand new)
  • 1 cloth bag
  • 4 unused pens in wrappers
  • 2 lanyards
  • 3 rubber balls
  • 1 set of headphones and carry case

Recycled/used up/thrown away

  • 1 sellotape dispenser my husband brought home from his work
  • Tub of butter which my husband bought and doesn’t like (I don’t eat it)
  • 2 lettuces he bought which are going off
  • Saucepan with broken handle
  • Crumble mix – I think my husband got it off his mum, it’s been in the fridge for over a week, neither of us are going to eat it…
  • 5 hanging files – my husband keeps bringing these home from work. We already have stacks which he doesn’t use so I now have a zero tolerance policy. Until he uses the old ones, any new ones go straight out the door!
  • 6 packets of yeast – out of date and I don’t eat flour anymore
  • 1 pack casserole mix – as above

Total 51 items

Not bad going this month, I got quite a lot done one day at the beginning of the month and that set me up for the rest of the month. It’s not quite two items a day but it’s getting there. We are at a really high clutter point at the moment, my husband has filled up the majority of the rooms in the house with his stuff. We had a gas engineer come to the house, and I was genuinely ashamed to have a stranger see how we live. At the same time, I feel like I don’t have control over my husband’s belongings and the right to just get rid of everything. I’ve asked him to think about getting counselling for his hoarding and he’s said no, so I’m not sure what the next step is from here.

One thought on “October 2015 declutter total

Leave a Reply

