8 questions to measure your life

Today I came across a post from http://chrisguillebeau.com/ that I’d previously shared on Facebook, and decided to answer the questions.

  1. Are you happy?
    By and large, I’d say I’m happy at the moment. I’m not sure I’m happy when I look at the bigger picture, but I have various small moments of happiness each day.
  2. Do you like your daily routine?
    Yes, although ideally I’d rather have fewer hours per day at work. I love that my daily commute is short and can be done on foot. I love that because of that, I have time to myself each morning before I leave the house, to exercise, write 750 words and be mindful. I love that its proximity means that I can go runninng in the park. I love having time to myself in the evenings after work. I love that because I don’t have children, I can sleep in late at the weekend and then choose the rest of the day to suit myself.
  3. How much time do you spend doing something you love?
    I’d say quite a lot. I make time for reading every week, I have lunch with friends, I go to knitting and language groups.
  4. Who are the good people in your life – and do you spend enough time with them?
    Hmm, this one seemed trickier to answer. First, I’m an introvert, so I have a small social circle and am generally happy with that. Second, I find it quite difficult to get close to people and to stay in touch with them. I have a couple of good friends who live locally and I make time to see them regularly. I have other friends who live further away, that I don’t make much time for and would like to strengthen my relationship with.
  5. What do you need to change?
    I have put on weight over the last few months and am changing that at the moment by exercising regularly and following Whole30 eating rules.
    I would like to make the most of my time and cut back on time wasted procrastinating.
    I would like to bring order to our garden and learn more about gardening generally.
    I would like to work with my husband to resolve his hoarding issues and clear our house.
  6. Do you need to make any big decisions?
    Not at the moment. My job is going well and I’ve just had a raise so I expect to be there for the next year at least. My relationship with my husband is improving and I don’t expect to make any major changes there for the next year. I want to remain childfree so no decisions to be made there. My husband wants to remain in the city where we live, so by default, while I’m with him I don’t need to make any decisions about where to live.
  7. What are you doing for others?
    I’ve started weekly volunteering for the Samaritans, and also do another form of volunteering less regularly. I do a lot for my husband in terms of chores and tasks around the house. Now I think about it, I don’t do much for friends and family.
  8. What comes next?
    This is the area where I’m stuck. At the moment, I feel like I’m in a holding pattern or germinating. I don’t have a big future plan that I’m working towards. I’ve started saving money to be able to retire early, but based on the current situation, I won’t have enough saved until I’m 50 (over 10 years from now!). In the meantime, I’m not sure what I’m aiming for.
3 thoughts on “8 questions to measure your life

  1. Does one always need to have something to aim for (referring to the last one)? Can’t one just enjoy life as it is? Sounds to me you have great things in your life!

Leave a Reply

