May 2016 declutter

pexels-photo-medium

Given to charity shop

  • 4 pairs of socks
  • 2 jumpers
  • 1 shirt
  • 1 t-shirt
  • 1 pair glasses
  • 1 DVD
  • 1 sheet of transfers
  • 1 pair pyjamas
  • 1 pair shorts
  • 2 pyjama bottoms
  • 1 book
  • 1 toiletry bag
  • 1 shower scrunchie (I can’t think what they’re really called)
  • 1 lanyard
  • 1 pair jeans
  • 1 black dress (replaced by a new dress)
  • 1 umbrella
  • 1 Guinness hat
  • 10 t-shirts
  • 1 dress
  • 1 pair curtains
  • 2 blankets
  • 1 watch
  • 6 balls of wool
  • 1 packet of pencil crayons
  • 4 knitting magazines
  • 2 packets of buttons
  • 1 plastic folder

Recycled/used up/thrown away

  • 2 cardboard boxes
  • 10 small charity teddies
  • 1 bottle sink unblocker (I didn’t know we had it, found it when looking for weedkiller and used it to unblock our kitchen sink)
  • 1 container of hand soap I got for Christmas (used it to top up the existing soap at one of our sinks)
  • 2 cards
  • 2 containers of home-made soup (my husband made it, froze it, defrosted it and then didn’t eat it)
  • 1 container of marinade (I made it months ago and it lingered in the freezer, so I defrosted and used it up)
  • I pair of hold-ups with ladders (bought 2 new pairs to replace)
  • 1 pair sandals (replaced by new sandals)
  • 1 moisturiser received for Christmas
  • 1 letter (I recycle them after replying to them)
  • 1 umbrella cover (the matching umbrella broke a couple of years ago)
  • 2 cans of shoe polish (we already have a lifetime supply)
  • 1 tub of homemade stock (I defrosted it but never found a use for it)
  • 1 broken plastic box
  • 6 plastic lids (I keep takeaway boxes to take my breakfast and lunch to work, but somehow the number of boxes and lids always differs)
  • 1 plastic spoon (my husband brought home in a lunchbox)
  • 1 eyeshadow
  • 1 old perfume
  • 5 tampons
  • 2 hair grips
  • 2 screws for attaching a board to a bed
  • 1 spare button
  • 1 fuse (went through the wash while in my husband’s pocket)
  • 1 container of bubble bath received for Christmas
  • 5 teabags my husband brought home from a work trip
  • 83 mailing lists – unsubscribed
  • 1 optional piece from a suitcase, not sure what it does or which suitcase it relates to
  • 2 extra supermarket points cards, delivered with requested card
  • Various paperwork
  • My sister’s wedding invitation
  • Charity shop labels
  • Card reader from a bank account I’ve closed
  • Plastic wallet
  • 1 hand cream received for Christmas

Total – 202 items

My husband also got rid of a lot of work-related and scout-related items by taking them either back to work, or to the scout hut, so that freed up some space in our spare room. I didn’t keep records, but for example work-related books and paperwork, work backup tapes, a fan, boxes of work equipment.

Leave a Reply

